WhatsApp is rolling out the multi-device feature finally. This feature helps users to use WhatsApp on multiple devices. You must be using it to stay connected with your friends, colleagues, and others. It is one of the most popular instant messaging apps.
Recently it has rolled the end-to-end encryption backups feature for users to secure their chat history from an unknown person. Now it is rolling out the multi-device feature for more users. Today I am explaining to you about the WhatsApp multi-device feature. Read this post till the end to know more about this.
WhatsApp rolling out the multi-device feature for beta users
WhatsApp rollout the multi-device support feature for some specific beta users. Now users are able to use their WhatsApp on multiple devices without having the active internet on their primary phone.
When users open WhatsApp and tap on the three dots on the top of the right corner then you users will see the new feature named Linked devices. This is not the new feature basically WhatsApp has renamed the WhatsApp Web feature to Linked devices and users will see the multi-device feature within this feature.
If you have got this feature then you will see the new option to link your devices. Users can link up to 4 devices and use WhatsApp without keeping the active internet on their phone. This feature is for specific beta testers so if you are lucky then you will get this feature. Also, if you have the same beta version of WhatsApp that doesn’t mean you will get this feature definitely.
Most of the users are thinking that if they use the multi-device feature then may WhatsApp store their chat to the cloud. According to the WABetaInfo, it doesn’t store the users’ chat to their WhatsApp or Facebook cloud after being delivered to users’ contacts.
But the messages will be delivered to all the linked devices when the users will receive the messages. All the linked devices will be logged out automatically from users WhatsApp account after 14 days of inactivity on their phone.
Because of the security reason, it has added this 14 days inactivity logged out option. So users have to use their phone at least once every 14 days to stay connected to their linked devices. Users’ chat history will transfer from their phone to the linked devices when they create the new session and this process is encrypted, as per WABetaInfo.
After the process completes all keys from companion devices will be deleted. After this, all messages will save in the local database. Users’ messages, calls, status updates are end-to-end encrypted that means no one can see.